My Favourite Fifty Albums (first draft!)

I think that one of the reasons that I don't get much blog traffic is that I don't post regularly enough, so I'm trying to come up with things to post almost (but not quite) just for the sake of it. (I must have an original idea per week in me, surely????) A first idea is to try and come up with a definitive list of my favourite albums. I wasn't sure of the exact number, but was aiming at a top ten or twenty, something like that. Being fairly brutal, I got a list of 79 at my first attempt.

Below I've listed 49 (I couldn't decide which of Rubber Soul or Revolver to leave out, so I've left them both out, giving me a spare place for something I've bound to have forgotten!) For now, they are only listed alphabetically. I may either reduce these to a twenty or attempt to prioritise them in future.

I invite comments…

Gordon  Barenaked Ladies – Gordon
Abbey Road  The Beatles – Abbey Road
Rockin' the Suburbs  Ben Folds – Rockin' The Suburbs
Trailer Park  Beth Orton – Trailer Park
Back to Basics  Billy Bragg – Back To Basics
William Bloke Vol.1  Billy Bragg – William Bloke
Post  Björk – Post
Lapalco  Brendan Benson – Lapalco
One Mississippi  Brendan Benson – One Mississippi
Disintegration  The Cure Disintegration
101 [SACD Hybrid] [Live] [SACD]  Depeche Mode – 101
Music for the Masses [CD + DVD] [SACD]  Depeche Mode – Music For The Masses
Violator [CD + DVD] [SACD] [Original recording remastered]  Depeche Mode – Violator
Casanova [Double CD] [Limited Edition] [Import]  The Divine Comedy – Casanova
Endtroducing...  DJ Shadow – Endtroducing…
L.A Woman  The Doors – LA Woman
Electronic  Electronic – Electronic
Painted from Memory  Elvis Costello and Burt Bacharach – Painted From Memory
The Mission Ost [Soundtrack]  Ennio Morricone – The Mission OST
Soft Bulletin 5.1 [CD + DVD] [Import]  The Flaming Lips – Soft Bulletin
Live After Death [Enhanced] [Live]  Iron Maiden – Live After Death
Laid (2001 Reissue)  James – Laid
Underneath The Stars  Kate Rusby – Underneath The Stars
Levelling the Land  Levellers – Levelling the Land
Magic and Loss  Lou Reed Magic and Loss
Bargainville [Import]  Moxy Früvous – Bargainville

 Adventures Beyond the Ultraworld  The Orb – The Orb's Adventures Beyond The Ultraworld
Doolittle  Pixies – Doolittle
Dummy  Portishead – Dummy
Steve Mcqueen  Prefab Sprout – Steve McQueen
Screamadelica  Primal Scream – Screamadelica
Vanishing Point  Primal Scream – Vanishing Point
O.K Computer  Radiohead – OK Computer
Document (Remastered) [Extra tracks]  REM – Document
Green  REM – Green
En-Tact [Import]  Shamen – En-Tact
The Queen Is Dead The Smiths – The Queen Is Dead
The Stone Roses [Import]  The Stone Roses – The Stone Roses
Suede  Suede – Suede
Reading, Writing and Arithmetic [Import] The Sundays – Reading Writing and Arithmetic
In It for the Money  Supergrass – In It for the Money
5026389910124.jpg  Tansads – Flock
Here Come The Tears  The Tears – Here ComeThe Tears

Songs from Northern Britain  Teenage Fanclub – Songs From Northern Britain
Flood  They Might Be Giants – Flood
So Much for the City [DVD AUDIO]  The Thrills – So Much For The City
The Velvet Underground and Nico [Original recording remastered]  The Velvet Underground and Nico – The Velvet Underground and Nico
The Man Who - U.S.A. [Extra tracks] [Import]  Travis – The Man Who
Under a Sun  Witness – Under A Sun


In Association with Amazon.co.uk

technorati tags:, , , ,

Blogged with Flock

~ by bouncysteve on 21 June, 2006.

6 Responses to “My Favourite Fifty Albums (first draft!)”

  1. Steve,

    I am relieved to see that ‘Flock’ made it into the top 50 – but wot no ‘Shandyland’ or ‘Up the Shirkers’? And ‘Supergrass – Thingummy’ – do you mean ‘I Should Coco’, or is this a new release I know not of?

    Although you say you’ve been brutal in selecting these favourites, I am suspicious that you have been a bit eclectic for electicism’s sake you little trickster. Only one Smith’s and one BNL LP? And NO mention of New Order or Joy Division at all? You know Kelvin will be disgusted to see the omission of Stevie Wonder from the list too…

    You’ve inspired me though. I might make my own top 50. Though I fear mine would contain 49 ‘greatest hits’ compilations…

    Happy sanding!

  2. Ah yes. I couldn’t remember the name of the Supergrass album, hence Thingummy.

    I didn’t think I was being eclectic for the sake of it. The only other Smiths candidate would be Strangeways here we come, which possibly got overlooked because I only have it on vinyl, so it doesn’t exist in my iTunes library. I did have Technique and Low-life in my original 79, but I decided that neither are that great as albums.

  3. Kate Rusby – genius. Glad you appreciate her too. That line in “Underneath the Stars” (the song) “I’m sure they’d like me if they oinly met me is one of the best lines I know.

    Out of interest, why OK Computer and not The Bends?

  4. Was it you I went to see James with at the Leadmill? I was trying to remember the other day.

    Good choices btw, love Philippa xx

  5. Yeah,

    I don’t remember anything about it (because it was during my Leadmill-centred “Lost Weekend”), other than it was a semi-secret gig, their first after Larry Gott left. He was in the audience and was offered the opportunity to play during the encore, but declined.

    Glad you like the list!

  6. Nothing produced by Martin Hannett?! And only one Brian Eno tinged album (Laid)!? Tut tut, go and listen to Bowie’s Low on repeat right now. Once that’s helped you to see the light it’ll be time to dig out Unknown Pleasures. Or are they albums 51 and 52?

Leave a Reply

 
