smoking ban

I'm overjoyed at the complete ban of smoking in enclosed public places which passed through the Commons yesterday, although far from being an improvement in public health, I imagine that it will lead to me drinking more.

That sounds a little frivolous, but many's the time I've wanted to go and watch football in the pub, but have thought better of it because of the fug. I'm looking forward to being able to spend more time in the pub.

This is something I've waited for for a long time, and I listened to the Commons debate with interest. Opponents to the bill didn't have a sensible argument between them, and that was reflected in the lack of public outcry on its passing.

~ by bouncysteve on 15 February, 2006.

Leave a Reply

 
